mini rant about prices…

hi! 

i have to do a mini rant about the cost of things for a minute…then I will have it out of my system and i will be done.

I went to Planet Organic today to get a refill for my Soda Stream and pick up a couple other things…my plan was to get a couple kombuchas, the refill and maybe one or two other things only to be gotten from the hf store and then get a few things from the Rootcellar-my chosen produce store, especially in the abundant summer in BC.

i will say even before i really get into it that almost every time i walk into planet organic i am already kind of angry and disappointed with them…i already am looking through the “you disappoint me” glasses, so they really don’t have a hope in hell of making me happy. that’s sad, isn’t it? so, in i walk, just minding my own business wanting to get my refill and get out before i am spending a gazillion dollars on nothing (wait for it). i picked up my refill ($19.99), grabbed a medium bag of cashews, a medium-small bag of raw almonds and 2 GT’s Kombuchas…modest, moderate, small, not even filling one bag. I refrained from buying all the other things that I thought about buying and decided to just get out while i was still in a good mood (seriously, i can always feel the tension mounting when i go in there…unfortunately).  so…drum roll please…my total for these FIVE items (and modest items) was ALMOST FIFTY DOLLARS!!! really??? two kombuchas, some cashews and almonds and I’m paying THIRTY dollars?? wow.

so, again, here i am back to feeling annoyed with Planet Organic before i even get through the door.

oh…and while i’m here, let me just say that every time i get to the cashier, she asks me if i found everything ok… and every time i say i did not find what i was looking for she says something un helpful and apologetic but not anything to solve the problem of me not finding what i was looking for…so, uhm, why ask in the first place?

ok. i’m done my rant. i usually just pay whatever for whatever i want because i take my health seriously and don’t mind spending the money on my food…but some days i wish being healthy was a bit cheaper.

nighty night.

love,

ida x

2 responses to “mini rant about prices…

  • yoginibear

    Yes, with healthy eating costing so much, how then can it be financially feasible for the common man to make the lifestyle change to eat better? Junk food should be taxed to the max, like cigarettes…just saying

    • yogagyrl

      Hi! I think there are many ways to be healthy and cost effective-especially here in our abundant environment of BC in the summer-but sometimes I pay for convenience!! Buying kombucha instead of making it, buying small amounts of raw nuts instead of buying bulk from on-line distributors, etc…the key is to find new ways to use what we DO have at our fingertips…makes a case for the 100 mile diet perhaps…? 😉

Leave a Reply

