Excuse me, but what time zone am I in anyhow?

Hello my puppies!

I just got back to Victoria from a fantastic trip away…I was in Athen, Georgia, and then in Winnipeg, Manitoba. The whole trip reminded me…once again…how blessed I am and how much I love what I do.

In Athens my friend Jolin is getting the community flexi and hot in a beautiful new Bikram Yoga Athens which she just opened last December. I first met Jolin last summer in Birmingham, Alabama, and am so happy I got to her studio last week! Not only is the studio gor-geous, but so full of love and possibility, it’s contagious. As the studio is so new, there were may new students there…many people who have just started practicing-several who practiced at other studios, but a good portion of them are just starting their Bikram practice. I love working with people who have a good handle on their bodies already, people who have been practicing for years, people who I can help with small details and adjustments…but honestly, there is nothing like the look in a person’s eye and the smile on a person’s face when he or she thinks she has no chance in ever doing something and together we find something new, surpass an old belief about herself and her body and capabilities…seriously, there is nothing like it.
The weekend was full and bursting with wonderful people and food and visiting and yoga and sunshine and and and and. Jolin even had a little bowl of raw treats and goodies beside my bed for me to snack on through the weekend…seriously adorable.

After I left Athens, I flew up to Winnipeg, MA for a week of classes and yogis and friends…all ending with judging the first Manitoba Hatha Yoga Competition.
Let me start by saying that I LOVE the Winnipeg Bikram community! I have been to Winnipeg two other times and always have such a great time there…in and out of the yoga room. To be honest, I haven’t seen a whole lot of the city, but a city is really made by the people in it…right?!
This trip I was staying with my friends, Amanda and Kevin. They own Stafford Street Hot Yoga. Not only do they run a tight ship, teaching fab true to form Bikram yoga, but they have a huge kitchen called Ume’s Kitchen and lounge area for yogis to hang out, eat good food and visit before and after classes. They make smoothies, teas and “love buns” on Fridays and Saturdays and on special occasions they bring in people to make delicious meals.

I came in to Winnipeg when I did mostly to get a chance to work a bit with some of the competitors. The competitors at SSHY had been working on their routines relentlessly for weeks every day before and after classes in the lobby of the studio. Everyone knew what they were doing, sometimes watched, sometimes stepped over them on the way to the changerooms…the competitors supported eachother, timed eachother and gave eachother feedback and corrections. What a cute group they were! I slid in, in the end, to provide a little bit of polishing for them, but they did so much work before I got there.

On Sunday we had a sold out house (the theatre sat 250 and apparently they had to turn away 75 people at the door!). What a great first go in Manitoba!!

And, besides all the yoga, I got to go to the Ten Spa! Its a beautiful new spa in the newly redone Fort Garry Hotel in dt Winnipeg. When you go, you must go early and sit in the steam room and shower in the mint mist and lounge in your fluffy white robe and eat treats and sip tea…seriously, a little vacation in the middle of your life at any time!

AND, I got to spend time with Amanda and Kevin and their amazing new boy, Eyvi. What a delight he is…there really is nothing like being with a small human to make you realize the wonder of the world!

Leave a Reply

