Groupon and Couvon and Living Social and Ethical Deal and…

Good morning!

Yesterday I was cruising through the internet and sifting through my email and deleting all the junk I get everyday…and I noticed that many of my emails are from companies offering me a “special deal” on various items and services from eyebrow waxing to oil changes to organic nut butters…and let’s not forget YOGA. So, I say to my friend, “wtf??!!”. Why, if all of these companies are willing to sell their wares at reduced prices, are we still paying for ANYTHING at the “regular” price…and what, really, IS a “regular” price?

Listen, I am not a huge fan of the mass marketed deal companies, but I will not pretend that I don’t enjoy a good “deal” from Vegan Cuts, Ethical Deal and on occasion Groupon. I have had a few doozies-things that I got that weren’t really such a good deal either because the company wasn’t what it was presented to be, or because the product wasn’t very good etc. However, that is the risk you take when buying anything really, especially when you buy things on-line. OK, here is my thought about what TO buy on these deal emails/websites…restaurants you are familiar with. I mean, how can you go wrong here, right? If you’ve been there, like it, and now have a deal for…? No brainer. Similarly, for a place you already frequent, such as a salon or spa. The first Groupon I bought was for an “express manicure and pedicure” for me and my sister and it was all we could do to get out of there without laughing ourselves into a seizure. (please take note, the place we went to is Queen Bee Nail Salon and I’ve seen them do more deal emails, so do your research before you buy for these types of places…).

OK…, so now onto my other thoughts…the never ending Groupon and SALE at the yoga studio(s). It seems that every time I turn around there is another email offering me a deal on yoga…and if there isn’t a deal from the email then there is a deal right at the studio. I don’t want to seem like a Scrooge here, and I get that I don’t have to pay for my yoga (now), and I am all about a deal as a great way for bringing people in (to ANY business) and getting new clients (students, etc) by giving them a free/cheap/no(t much) committment way of trying something new…but…I am sad that in our society now we so often will ONLY purchase things if they are on sale…is this true or am I making it up?

This is something that I learned from…oh, gee, maybe from What Not To Wear…don’t buy something on sale if you wouldn’t consider buying it at the regular price. Simple, right? Yup, when I am buying clothes I always keep that in my head…”would I buy this at the regular price?” and “do I love this at regular price and then love it that much more at the sale price?” and “am I only partly in love with this but it’s cheap so what the hay?”…you see where I’m going with this. I know it’s a bit different with a service (like yoga) but honestly, if I want to do something in my life I want to do it because that is the joy of life, WE HAVE THE CHOICE to do whatever we want…and it you really want to do something then money is not the object…happiness is…right?

That’s all. My (small) rant about sales. Don’t think that I don’t love a great sale (double negative, does that make sense?)…I DO love a great sale, and I am a really good sale shopper…but ask yourself what you truly want in your life and then you will start to manifest all of those things around you and you’ll find that they will be more accessible to you (whether that is monetarily or through convenience etc).

Manifest manifest manifest, my Pretties. You have the power!

K, gotta go to yoga…for free 😉

2 responses to “Groupon and Couvon and Living Social and Ethical Deal and…

  • Melanie Saint-hilaire

    Dear Ida,
    What a pleasure to attend your workshops again this weekend. So eager to get back to class and work on new things I’ve learned.

    I truly enjoyed watching you teach with so much passion. You can feel it in the air! I was also touched and drawn to tears when you worked with students who had major breakthroughs. Whether it was locust pose or grabbing a foot, touching the forehead to the floor! Amazing!

    And to top it off…how special it was to participate in the first Manitoba Hatha yoga competition…judged by you. I never thought in a million years that would ever happen!

    Having said that…since your last visit in 2011, i i i was inspired by your standing head to knee pose on YouTube. I was truly obsessed by it…even watching it on my husband’s phone…he said who is this Ida Ripley?

    Coming from competitive sports like rugby, hockey or even medical school…I struggled with that in class. Why am I doing this? Do I Have to be good? And today I really let that all go. While I’m proud of doing my thing and doing my best I really did let myself have fun no matter the outcome. My family and friends and fellow yogis were there to cheer me on because as you say they love me! Now I’m just winding down from the high of being on stage. I’m so thrilled that I smiled! Ah so good to get another chance to make up for that dance recital when I was 11 and didn’t crack a smile!!! Never too late I guess!

    Thank you so much! Keep doing what you love.

    Sincerely,
    Melanie Saint-Hilaire

    PS-I read this poem “wild geese” by Mary Oliver (sent to me by a friend) before competition. it got me through!

    • yogagyrl

      Hi Melanie~
      what a sweet and wonderful woman you are. It was such a pleasure seeing you and working with you this week at SSHY. You embodied what the yoga competition is all about and allowed us, the audience, to see and feel your love for your yoga!
      I’m so happy you redeemed yourself from your dance recital…whew, now you can finally move on!! 😉
      Love, Ida

Leave a Reply

