Bikram Yoga is a Beginning Yoga Class…

Good evening, Yogis.

I just finished reading a great article from the NY Times titled “How Yoga Can Wreck Your Body”, and an article about that article from the Globe and Mail titled “Is Yoga Ruining Your Body?”. Both of these articles (I highly recommend reading them) talk about strong arming yourself into doing things when you aren’t ready or able…

I just finished a post about my own experience with practicing Bikram Yoga over the years and I really appreciate these articles because I know what it is like to do something when I’m not ready to do it.

The reason I do want to write to you now though is to say that BIKRAM YOGA IS A BEGINNER’S PRACTICE…we don’t do headstands and handstands or even Chaturanga in this series because it is designed for BEGINNERS and for EVERYONE…now now, hold your horses…I know that not everyone LIKES Bikram Yoga but what I want to get across is that this series is very safe for everyone. There is no jerky movement and you are not putting force or weight on things that don’t usually have force or weight on them. (Please don’t think that I am putting down ANY other form of yoga, I’m simply saying what Bikram Yoga is about). Of course you can over do it in a Bikram class. Of course you can push yourself beyond where you need to go…of course you might get tricked into thinking you have more flexibility than you have because the heat has limbered you up, and of course you might feel sore when you practice Bikram Yoga. However, you might also feel energized and enlivened and re-newed! You might feel symptoms of chronic pain melt away and experience a heightened sense of self awareness and find yourself joyful!

The biggest thing to remember is that it is YOUR body and YOU have to find what works for YOU. There is going to be breakdown (Rajashree says that that is by design in a yoga practice), and subsequently with breakDOWN there is enevitably breakTHROUGH!

Breathe, keep your eyes open, your ears tuned, your mind clear and your heart open. Namaste, puppies.

2 responses to “Bikram Yoga is a Beginning Yoga Class…

  • Roxana

    Ida, I came across your blog this morning. What a fun, well-written, entertaining and informative way to share your thoughts with all of us!

    I wanted to post a link here to a rebuttal article from Bikram Tyson which is a concise, well-written response to the NY Times article, reviewing point by point each issue raised by, in particular in relation to the Bikram yoga practice. It briefly summarizes very comprehensive and relevant answers.

    http://​bikramtysons.posterous.com/​can-yoga-do-harm?mid=57

    For your readers who might have concerns about the commentary in the original article, this is a good read and reference point to put their minds at ease.

    Love ya, gorgeous. I’ve really enjoyed everything I’ve read so far and am looking forward to following … so keep ’em coming!! Looking forward to seeing you soon. I won’t make Squamish since I’ll be in Kamloops that weekend for MJ.

    xoxoRoxox

    • yogagyrl

      Hi Rox!
      Yeah, I have been meaning to write a follow-up to that post…there was soooo much blah blah blah about that article…well, articles stemming from that article and thought I’d just write a blurb about it…but you did a great job bringing it up again so I’ll leave it at that for now! So, thanks 😉
      Have a great time this weekend with MJ, I’ll see you in Calgary in a few weeks!
      Love xx

Leave a Reply

