Mint Tea and Basketball…not in that order

Today I went to shoot some hoops with my brother. bahahahahaha! That sounds sooooo funny coming from me!! Honestly, I was never a sporty gal. All through my growing up, PE was not my best subject…basketball in particular. It was something about the running and the bouncing and the shooting all together that messed me up. So, tonight when my brother asked me if I wanted to go shoot some hoops I had to think about it for a moment. There was a brief moment of panic and then a small glimmer of excitement. Really? Excitement? Yes, it’s true…I was a little bit excited to go play basketball after so many years. We walked to the school across the street (we live in a cul-de-sac with not one but 2 hoops in it, but we were a little worried about the very expensive and not our cars parked there!) and played a little one on one. I won’t bore you with the details, but I will entertain you with the lesson. I realised that, while I still pretty well suck at the game, I actually do enjoy it! I realised that in high school, when you suck at something, you risk ridicule and being the laughing stock…or at least the focus of laughter AT you for the duration of that period. When you suck at something with your brother on a beautiful sunny Tuesday evening it’s actually quite entertaining and enjoyable! I seriously haven’t laughed that hard in a long time…I was freed of my confines of caring what I looked like and let myself just try and try and try…and low and behold I actually got a little bit better as the time rolled on. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to be making the women’s national team any time soon, but I was able to get the hang of running and bouncing the ball at the same time…and I no longer have a fear of doing a lay up! Ah, the small things in life.

Now I’m sitting drinking a jar of mint tea made with fresh mint from the garden. Perfection is sometimes so simple, isn’t it?

loving my minty mint

Leave a Reply

