“If it isn’t working, it just isn’t working”~L.M-B.

You know the saying, “banging your head against the wall”? How about, “if at first you don’t succeed, try try again”? OK, here’s another one…”the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, and expecting different results”~Albert Einstein…he was a pretty smart guy, from what I understand. That seems to be the theme for my brain today. All through class, all I could think was, “if it isn’t working, it just isn’t working”. It’s true, isn’t it? AND, it’s so simple! I think we (as a whole, but maybe not, maybe it’s just me) often get stuck in a rut of something that we believe that doesn’t necessarily serve us any longer. Maybe at one time said thing DID work, did make a difference for us, and now it’s become a belief that said thing STILL works for us…but it isn’t…but our deep-rooted belief system won’t let us see that.

I say this for many reasons…the two big ones being yoga and raw food for me (of course). Yoga and raw food are the two biggest passions for me in my life (currently), and I’ve had many lessons over the years that have taught me that everything is fluid and nothing is going to ever stay the same. We create constants in our lives, but the ebb and flow of things will always continue and we have to learn to adapt and go with it. In my life, I have had a great opportunity to learn to listen to my body, for example, and change my behaviour to suit my needs at any given time in my life. Through the practice of yoga, I’ve learned to connect my brain to my body, and learn to connect to each part of my body separately, as well as build tremendous awareness as to how things affect me in my body. This knowledge is directly assisted in my journey of raw food. I’ve felt the impact that diet has on my body, my brain and my life, and I’ve experimented with what foods fuel my body the best. All that being said, I’ve had to trudge through some swampy and unclear areas as well! I have learned that, as my life is ever-changing, my needs are ever changing. The way that I eat now, the way that I practice yoga now, are different than a few years ago. At times, I’ve held onto some kind of stigma around how I think I “should” or “shouldn’t” be, or what I “should” or “shouldn’t” eat or put in my body. What I’ve learned is, it’s a constant experiment and lesson in connection! In order to feel great all the time, I have to be willing to change or alter my beliefs to accommodate the present moment. Whew! What a lesson! Before, I was allowing myself to be “stuck” in any number of beliefs (how to eat, when to do yoga, how often I need to practice, etc). When I realised that those things that may have worked for me before, may or may not be working for me now…well, things changed. I decided that I would only do things that made me happy and joyful-this included yoga, food and everything else in my life. Of course, we all have to do things that we may not find super joyful-like cleaning the toilet-but instead of resenting those “chores”, I can think about the result it will have and not be so grumpy about having to do the job. Same thing some days with yoga. In fact, just this morning, I was on my way to the yoga studio and thinking that I wanted to feel the way I know I will feel AFTER I practice, but didn’t want to have to do the work to get there…but, we all know, it doesn’t work that way 😉

So, to wrap up this rather head-y post, I will say this; life is one big experiment. If you don’t like the result you are getting from what you are doing, then try something else. It’s really that simple.

Leave a Reply

